A Curse

Hello,

Given my portfolio work commences today, I fear I shall not have the time to update again until Sunday. In the meantime, therefore – to assure all readers that I have not forgotten this blog, have my most recent piece: a rather facetious curse that forms part of a poetic ‘rap battle’ with Humbert Humbert (as per usual, my friend). With his permission I may post his riposte.

Persiflage Platais

Conversation Galante you are not
Filling mealtimes with ribald rot.
Drifting desultorily through the Quad
Too indolent to seek the Bod.

Emetic are your evening breezes,
Rising after breakfast ceases,
I proffer my advice sagacious
and you remain contumacious.

I anathematize your monikers
yet they persist like conifers.
You always select the Latinate
To cavil with, and me frustrate.

You, with langour and with lethargy
Create in me an effigy
Of a meretricious Methodist
Chances to be puerile never missed.

Perhaps you might me stop bothering
with your persistent persiflage
Were you to give out a rogering
And create homage from badinage.

But for now you play the sophist
with a beard that’s slightly foppish
In my attempts to save the wayward
I have only words to play with.

For playing with words is all you do,
Leaving a weary residue,
A foul brow-beaten retinue
Who, through your raillery, are effing blue.

Regards,

Jack

Leave a comment